Question for people with wood in their tanks??????????????????

+4
fishNAbowl
Will I am
Madness
anthony
8 posters

Go down

Question for people with wood in their tanks?????????????????? Empty Question for people with wood in their tanks??????????????????

Post  anthony 2014-07-26, 21:00

Well I have been keeping fish on and off since I was 14 years old. Only in the past couple of years have I attempted to keep Mopani wood in my tanks. Long story short whenever I have so much as tried to keep even a small piece of wood in my tanks my PH has plummeted down into the 6's . I just got a tank up an running and I wanted to put a large piece of wood in my tank because there will be several plecos in my tank. I live in seattle and my water comes out pretty much at 7.0. To my own fault I have always kept my tanks more over stocked than under stocked but have always kept up on water changes . But the wood has always seemed to be the breaking point for my PH . Is my wood not old enough? I always soak until it stops making the water brown. Does anyone else have this problem? I have never got any old wood I have always started with "new" wood
anthony
anthony
FishBox Member

Back to top Go down

Question for people with wood in their tanks?????????????????? Empty Re: Question for people with wood in their tanks??????????????????

Post  Madness 2014-07-26, 21:06

Wood will naturally soften the water, regardless of age. It doesnt help that your water is already on the soft side. My tap is 7.8 so my wood tanks are around 7.0 and my pleco tank is 6.4

I guess you could add baking soda at water changes to try and keep it neutral.
Madness
Madness

Back to top Go down

Question for people with wood in their tanks?????????????????? Empty Re: Question for people with wood in their tanks??????????????????

Post  Will I am 2014-07-26, 21:31