Betty
BoxedWater
CMooreCichlids
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Pool Filter Sand Empty Pool Filter Sand

Post  CMooreCichlids 2014-04-01, 23:52

Does anyone have a specific favorite brand of pool filter sand?

I'm looking to transition from gravel to sand, and am looking for some opinions.

I would like black Tahitian sand, but that's a lot of cash.

PFS is cheap, and I hear good things about it.

Please share opinions and experiences.

Thank you
CMooreCichlids
CMooreCichlids
FishBox Member

Back to top Go down

Pool Filter Sand Empty Re: Pool Filter Sand

Post  BoxedWater 2014-04-02, 00:24

I have been using HTH PFS from Ace Hardware for about 6 months now and love it. I think it was around $20 for 100 pounds. My old sand was too sharp for my cories and loaches but this stuff works really well. It only comes in an off-white color though if that makes a difference.

BoxedWater
Fry

Back to top Go down

Post  Betty 2014-04-02, 00:28

I love it and use it in almost all of my tanks.

Brand I use.
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

A couple of pictures under different lighting.

It's a tan color and a good sized grain compared to some of the other sands I've tried. The pfs is on the right.  I have bought mine at pool/spa supply stores and also at McClendon's.
Betty
Betty
Contributing Member

Back to top Go down

Pool Filter Sand Empty +1 on the PFS!

Post  hose91 2014-04-02, 00:53