Removing alpha male guppy from group- new alpha male growth?

4 posters

Go down

Removing alpha male guppy from group- new alpha male growth? Empty Removing alpha male guppy from group- new alpha male growth?

Post  LuminousAphid 2013-10-16, 20:03

Hello everyone, so I have a situation here that I think I understand, but I want to make sure it will go the way I'm thinking it will

I have been keeping guppies in my 10 gallon tank for a couple months now, and the main group of adults has gotten fairly used to each other, and for the most part don't hassle each other too much anymore. The exception is the "alpha" male guppy, who has a big flashy colorful tail and a gun metal-type body, who is obviously the boss. He sometimes displays a lot to the biggest female, but lately he has begun chasing her around and doing the male guppy thing, but doing it constantly, every time I look at them. I didn't really like this, as it seemed like the big female was stressed out by his constant harassment.

So, I have removed the male to my 20 gallon tank, which has similar water and everything, but doesn't have any guppies for him to harass. Now that he is in with some unfamiliar fish, he has of course calmed down, but still seems to be doing ok, not too stressed or anything. There are only other small fish in that tank. He seems to be leaving them alone, and vice versa.