Starting a planted tank... help!

+2
Lamental Jester
m_e_loo
6 posters

Go down

Starting a planted tank... help!  Empty Starting a planted tank... help!

Post  m_e_loo 2013-04-23, 17:34

I have taken the plunge! I have a 90GAL tank that is fully cycled and has a few plants in it, and 4 angel fish. The problem is I have NO IDEA what i am doing and i seek advice and help acquiring some more plants.

The set up
90 GAL tank
LED marineland Light w/Timer and moonlight
SunSun canister (largest size) W/UV light
Stand
Versa Tops

This tank WAS and African tank but I have the PH at 7.0 now.

I don't have Co2.

My biggest questions....
Co2 is Ok for fish?
what other fish can I add with the current Angels
Where can i get cheap plants and a decently priced C02 thing(LOL)

Again im new to thins, i'v never tried it and I need any help and advice I can get.

Thanks Very Happy
m_e_loo
m_e_loo
FishBox Regular

Back to top Go down

Starting a planted tank... help!  Empty Re: Starting a planted tank... help!

Post  Lamental Jester 2013-04-23, 18:22

hi m_e_loo!

Co2 is ok for fish as long as you don't use too much. Co2 systems can be quite pricey however. What kind of plants do you have? Any pics?
Lamental Jester
Lamental Jester
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

Post  binbin9 2013-04-23, 18:33

CO2 is ok for fish is you watch your levels with a drop checker. The cheapest CO2 system you'll get is a DIY with yeast and sugar.

There are tons of info on plantedtank.net or aqauticplantcentral or even youtube.

my advice is to do a search for aquascape and see what kind of planted tank style you like.
Iwagumi, Dutch style, hardscapes with log, no logs or just stones.

Once you know have an idea of what the end result is you can follow the journals that folks have used to get there.

for me personally tropica has a great amount of info and aquascapes to be inspired by.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
binbin9
binbin9

Back to top Go down