Planted Tank's DIY Co2 Vs Fluval Mini Co2 System. With updates on thoughts and extras.

3 posters

Go down

Planted Tank's DIY Co2 Vs Fluval Mini Co2 System. With updates on thoughts and extras. Empty Planted Tank's DIY Co2 Vs Fluval Mini Co2 System. With updates on thoughts and extras.

Post  BillHN 2013-02-27, 15:05

WARNING! Wall of Text Incoming
Soo... currently... I'm using a Fluval Mini Co2 System. Cost: $35
And so far so good. Minus the part where the instructions on how to use the system were... well vague...
I'm new to Co2 Injection and all of this so I thought.. hmm this should be good for a planted tank.. lets see how this'll go.

The Fluval Mini went out in less than a week on 20g's of co2. But apparently I was using it the wrong way.
Otherwise it wouldn't go out in less than a week.
So replacement cartridges (3 a piece) cost about 12$ - 15$ per order.
But there's threaded Co2 16grams that works with the system for bout 0.8 cents a piece from Ebay if you buy it en masse (i just bought a 90 pack...)

Thoughts... "that *@!*#@!*(!@ had better last me awhile!" other thoughts "fluval is expensive"
I read on forums about other scaper's ideas about the fluval mini, and well. Not too many people like it (darn my impulse buy), but the concept is simple, and if I work on it enough it should work well with a 20L without a problem if I use it right.

But the Planted Tank's Co2 Injection DIY seems to be a better idea and cheaper way (considering I can get co2 refills for free at work.. wish i could get 16g's for free.)

Here's a minilink: plantedtank. (can't poste external links, so please fill in) net/forums/showthread.php?t=115850