Normally I wouldn't post something so dumb but,

5 posters

Go down

Normally I wouldn't post something so dumb but, Empty Normally I wouldn't post something so dumb but,

Post  fishNAbowl 2013-11-30, 01:48

I just have to say I am happy to hear that they are finally able to breed Denison Barbs in captivity. Well, still hard for normal hobbyists to breed but possible for fish farms and possible for large aquarium breeders so I read but still, this species is being harvested from its natural habitat to the brink of extinction. When I was a new hobbyist I did raise a school. When I learned of the destruction of these fish and the fact they could not be bred in captivity I stopped housing them, and stopped recommending them to friends.  

This is a very beautiful fish, one of my very top favorites in larger planted aquariums.
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
fishNAbowl
fishNAbowl
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

Normally I wouldn't post something so dumb but, Empty Re: Normally I wouldn't post something so dumb but,

Post  MRTom 2013-11-30, 04:30

Can you post a link to where you read about the breeding success? Would like to learn more. Also, didn't these guys just get moved to Sahyadria?
MRTom
MRTom
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

Normally I wouldn't post something so dumb but, Empty Re: Normally I wouldn't post something so dumb but,

Post  fishNAbowl 2013-11-30, 13:15

Dang, searching my history, the read isn't coming up, sorry.
I started researching it after talking to Cory @ Aquarium CoOp & found that there is no info about ppl in the home breeding all though there are rare reports. Breeding was taking place in large farms some using hormones. There was a couple places in Europe that was successful with breeding. If I bump into the link again I will definitely post it.
fishNAbowl
fishNAbowl
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest 2013-11-30, 13:22