How much Lighting

5 posters

Go down

How much Lighting Empty How much Lighting

Post  sandnuka 2010-06-15, 21:12

Well, as most of you know from my previous post, i am very new to planted tanks...... I have read allot on lighting, and see soooooo many different opinions....... I have right now only 36watts in a 55gallon now.... but plan on gettin 108watts..... or should I do 216watts?????? how long you think my plants will survive in the lighting they are currently in? will they just not grow? I leave the lights on 24hrs a day cause the watts are soo low.
sandnuka
sandnuka
Admin

Back to top Go down

How much Lighting Empty Re: How much Lighting

Post  Guest 2010-06-15, 21:28

depending on the plants, most of them will die, but ones with large leaves like swords will live. dont leave the lights on all the time, its bad for the aquarium because some stuff comes out at night and plants need a time to cool down. if the 156watt is cheaper i would go with that, but you understand that withought Co2 you can keep almost anything you can under a 216watt. although if your going high tech (Co2) i would go for the 216watt simply because with Co2 a lot of plants need around 4wpg + Co2 and those are mostly the plants that are rarer and tend to look a lot brighter and more colorful. Co2 also will help them produce bubbles.

dont get me wrong, Co2 is definatly not necesary, i dont use any on my 55 gallon and i have 110watts over it, although it has 4 bulbs that i can put 55 watts in each, two are broken and i dont need that much light. withought co2 you wont get the plant selection you see in amano tanks or iwugami.

so simply:
No Co2, go for the 156watts
Co2 go for the 216watts

Back to top Go down

Post  sandnuka 2010-06-16, 05:09