Aqueon Pro heater problems !

+2
DMD123
finray56
6 posters

Go down

Aqueon Pro heater problems ! Empty Aqueon Pro heater problems !

Post  finray56 2013-12-18, 21:34

Hey I have been using the Aqueon Pro heaters for a few years now and I have been happy with them until the last couple of weeks. Last week I had one fail on my Goephagus tank, usually the temp is around 78 degrees but it shot up to 86 degrees . So today I'm getting ready to clean my Tropheus fry tank and the temp is down to 68 degrees and I keep it around 78.
I started using this brand a few years back when I stopped using Jaeger and Hydor heaters because of failures. Well here I go again, what brand shall I try now, even though I had all ready placed an order with two more of the Aqueons coming soon. I'm blown away that in 2013 they still have not figured out how to build a reliable aquarium heater that just WORKS.

I think it would be nice to have some type of consensus regarding heaters so we all know what brands are the most reliable ! We love our fish and they can also be expensive and it would be nice if we did not have to worry about this kind of ------ Smile
finray56
finray56
FishBox Regular

Back to top Go down

Aqueon Pro heater problems ! Empty Re: Aqueon Pro heater problems !

Post  DMD123 2013-12-18, 21:50

Still no foolproof heater that never fails. Most seem to have best results with the Eheim. I like the SERA with the heater guard.
DMD123
DMD123
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

Post  Aquarium Co-Op 2013-12-18, 22:02

You can never have 100% uptime on a heater. You can however hedge your bets. As for how can we not have a perfect heater yet? We do actually, the problem is we don't have one at the price the average consumer wants to pay.

I'd recommend the Cobalt Neo-therm heater [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]