Seattle_Aquarist
PokeSephiroth
BillHN
binbin9
flo77
pbmax
10 posters

Go down

Heavily planted former DSM 10g shrimp tank Empty Heavily planted former DSM 10g shrimp tank

Post  pbmax 2013-02-05, 13:40

Since I've already spent a bunch of money on shrimp recently, I figured I'd start up my newest 10g slowly using the Dry Start Method.  The substrate is aquasoil amazonia and I've planted green crypt wendtii along the back and brazilian micro swords in front.

My giant swiss tropicals 4" cube sponge filter will serve as the centerpiece of this tank. Very Happy And before you say it - YES, the aquascape (and I use the term very loosely here) is pretty ugly; I'm an engineer by trade with little aesthetic creative capacity.  My goal is happy plants and eventually happy shrimp (though I'll call it success if just the plants are happy).

The tank is currently lit by 2 18W 6500K CFL bulbs in an incandescent reflector setup.  I don't have any substrate heating, though the room temperature shouldn't drop below 60F.

Per a forum post I found somewhere my plan is to mist once a day and do a decent air exchange every 2 weeks.  The top is covered in plastic wrap and secured by some cheap custom-cut glass (to support the light fixture).  I added too much water at first, so I siphoned it out until I had no standing water (this encourages cyanobacteria, apparently).

I welcome any comments, suggestions, etc.  Thanks for looking!

Edit: Merged photos into the 1st post.

2013:

Feb 5:
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

March 14:

April 14:

August 11:

2014:

February 11 - Submersed (Since 8/11/2013) with Chocolate Neocaridina:

Last edited by pbmax on 2014-02-11, 19:55; edited 6 times in total
pbmax
pbmax
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

Heavily planted former DSM 10g shrimp tank Empty Re: Heavily planted former DSM 10g shrimp tank

Post  flo77 2013-02-07, 13:02