Saltwater setup help

5 posters

Go down

Saltwater setup help Empty Saltwater setup help

Post  Fish Addict 2012-05-27, 01:11

I am new to saltwater and by new I mean I haven't setup the tank yet. I want to make sure I have all the parts first. The parts I have are as follows:
Instant Ocean SeaClone 100 Protein Skimmer with pump
coralife fluorescent light (65 Watt 6700k)
30 Gallon glass tank with lid
Marineland Visi-therm 200 Watt Heater

I want to setup a ocellaris percula tank with a rose bubble tip anemone. The list of what I Believe I still need are as follows:
2x ocellaris percula
1x Rose bubble tip anemone
60 Lb of live rock
30-60 lb live sand

I am not sure If I am missing anything or I could be done better if I am please tell me. I always have people telling me there are much more beautiful clownfish but I really love watching ocellaris swimming in a RBTA.

I really don't want to spend $360 on live rock but I want my tank to be setup as best I can. What can I do to lower the cost? I know there is a guy in lynwwod who seels it for $3 a pound but $180 is still more then I want to pay. I will but if I don't have to then I would perfer not paying that much.

Also I am running the Instant Ocean SeaClone 100 Protein Skimmer with pump on the tank with just water in it to practice making the foam but the is no foam going into the collection cup and adjusting the air intake isn't seeming like it is changing anything. What should I do?
Fish Addict
Fish Addict
FishBox Member

Back to top Go down

Saltwater setup help Empty Re: Saltwater setup help

Post  lilfishie 2012-05-27, 01:50

30 gal tank, you will only need 30-40 lbs of rock
You wont need that much sand either.
You can also decide if you want a deep sand bed, bare bottom tank or a thin layer of sand.

An anemone is going to need better lighting. A T5 unit would be better than PC unit. You will want a couple power heads to keep water flowing.