Preggers?

+2
Missgrumpygills
lymitliss
6 posters

Go down

Preggers? Empty Preggers?

Post  lymitliss 2014-03-05, 20:13

Hey guys, sorry if everyone asks this but I couldn't find an obvious answers using the search.
I have several platies, of a few different varieties and there are a couple in the tank that I believe to be pregnant.  I am pretty new to fish, so honestly I can't even tell males from females, but this little platy has been getting bigger over time and the platy of the same type seems to stay close to her at all times.  Is she pregnant?  If so, how long is it before they usually give birth?  This is the best picture I could get, the orange one is the one in question, the red one to the left is her sidekick.

Thanks for the help!

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
lymitliss
lymitliss
Fry

Back to top Go down

Preggers? Empty Re: Preggers?

Post  Missgrumpygills 2014-03-05, 20:37

She looks quite pregnant Smile Congrats! I think the red one is a male. I cant say for sure how long until she gives birth, maybe 1-2 weeks. An easy way to tell male from female is their anal fin.
 [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
Missgrumpygills
Missgrumpygills
FishBox Member

Back to top Go down

Post  lymitliss 2014-03-05, 20:54

That's good news! There is another platy in there I believe to be a blue tuxedo that looks even more pregnant than this one. The only thing I could gather from reading online is that their stomachs "square up" right before the birth...the blue one I have is definitely big and square.

Is there anything I can do to help guarantee there are some survivors after the birth? As you can see in the picture she camps out near the breeding grass I have. Aside from the grass, is there anything that may help keep the fry safe?
lymitliss
lymitliss
Fry

Back to top Go down

Post  Missgrumpygills 2014-03-05, 21:04