Jeweled Cichlid sexing

3 posters

Go down

Jeweled Cichlid sexing Empty Jeweled Cichlid sexing

Post  kitty2234 2012-04-12, 01:35

Hi fish friends,

I am very new on this site. I live in Jamestown, NY. I have been raising Sailfin mollies for almost 2 years. In the last 3 weeks, I have started collecting a few species (each in their own tank) of cichlids.

I have: 2 pair of Pelvichachromis taeniatus Moliwe, Breeding pair of Rainbow Cichlids, 3 Jewel Cichlids, 6 Electric Yellow Labs, and 6 Red Point Honduran. (I can also use more information on Red Points. I think I have 2 males and 4 females.)

I am coming to the conclusion that my yellow labs are almost all males. My rainbows are spawning fine, but haven't been allowed to raise the fry at this time. The rainbows are sharing their tank with 3 spotted pim catfish, and I don't trust the catfish with fry.

But I need help with my 3 Jewel cichlids. Do ALL the male Jewels have 3 black dots? Is this reliable? If it is then I have 3 female Jewels and ALL of the are wanting to breed. Two of the red ones, like each other and chase the 3rd one away. (So, I removed the 3rd Jewel.) All of them have one black dot. One of the RED Jewels has a ballon looking stomach and is not blotted or constipated (I am fairly sure). The other red one is slightly large in the stomach.

All the Jewels are adults and are around 2 to 3 inches, but I have seen breeding tubes down of on the first 2 fish, for almost 3 weeks now. I have been searching for any help that I can find.

I have around 10 fish tanks setup for almost 2 years. I am trying to buy more tanks. Most of my tanks are 20 gallon and 20 gallon long. I also have a 43 gallon and a 36 gallon tank - for the catfishes and large pleco. I also have rubberlip plecos, clown plecos, and a variety of cory cats.
kitty2234
kitty2234
Fry

Back to top Go down

Jeweled Cichlid sexing Empty Re: Jeweled Cichlid sexing

Post  sandnuka 2012-04-12, 06:34