+5
WhosUrDadi
sidekicking
Anthraxx
aaronfeeney
adal
9 posters

Go down

I have American cichlids and wanna start African tank Empty I have American cichlids and wanna start African tank

Post  adal 2011-04-30, 20:23

Ok so a little while ago I moved my south american Dwarf cichlids to a 54g corner tank and now
I have an empty 29g that I want to turn into an african tank but Im a newbie when it comes to african cichlids.
my set up would be:
huge bio wheel filter
40w fluorescent light
150w heater
mini jet powerhead
45lbs aragonite/crushed coral substrate
40lbs "dead" live rock
I already have all of this its just not put together yet, and my biggest Q's would be:
what kind of africans can I get for a 29g? I want the colorful kinds, I've heard its good to overstock but not really sure what would be safe.
the substrate/rock was in a saltwater aquarium but I dried and stored it,would it be safe to use in freshwater?
my tap water comes out at about 8.2ph, I also have african lake buffers, should I even use them or is my tap water ok?
thanks
adal
adal
FishBox Member

Back to top Go down

I have American cichlids and wanna start African tank Empty Re: I have American cichlids and wanna start African tank

Post  aaronfeeney 2011-04-30, 23:57

If your tap is 8.2 Then the aragonite and dead LR should buffer the PH well enough. but use a good african cichlid salts, this will provide the right trace elements for their health. In a 29 you ought to pick some smaller breeds. Abig group of Mbuna will out grow that tank pretty fast.
aaronfeeney
aaronfeeney

Back to top Go down

I have American cichlids and wanna start African tank Empty Re: I have American cichlids and wanna start African tank

Post  Anthraxx 2011-05-01, 00:55