Aquarium Co-Op
PokeSephiroth
Madness
fishloverRon
11 posters

Go down

HOB vs CANISTER FILTER Empty HOB vs CANISTER FILTER

Post  fishloverRon 2013-11-11, 00:34

This is a spinoff of one of Cory's topics, however this topic is something I'm struggling with at the moment. It's a spinoff of one of Cory's topics.  So a little background first.

When I returned to the hobby almost 3 years ago after 30+ year hiatus, I discovered two new filter types that had become really popular in the hobby: the HOB with the internal motor and powered siphon tube, and the canister filter. I have been using both of these for the last 3 years now.  My preferred HOB is the Aquaclear series, and I don't have a preferred canister. I've had Fluvals, Cascades, Eheims, Renas and the Zoomed 501. On my 3 larger tanks I've been using the canister varieties, but currently I am changing over to HOB or HOB/canister pairings on each tank.

Both types of filters provide bacteria beds and mechanical filtration, and when I use the right sizes for the tank, will keep the water clear. I usually use at least 2 filters on each large tank.

I find that the ease of cleaning and lack of noise of the Aquaclears is much more suitable to me than the with the canisters.  With the canisters I have to reach under and into the tank cabinet, disconnect the tubes, lift a heavy canister, clean the media, refill it, carry it back to and situate it back under the tank in the cabinet, reconnect the tubes, and work like crazy to restart the siphon. All of this is taxing on my back and joints. ( no snarky remarks from any of you about my age here..! Smile If you're lucky enough you'll get there too!)

So what does anyone know from experience and education about the efficient functioning of either type of filter? Is one better than the other in that capacity?  Can you share that here?

Thanks in advance,
Ron
fishloverRon
fishloverRon
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

HOB vs CANISTER FILTER Empty Re: HOB vs CANISTER FILTER