KaraWolf
Lamental Jester
Madness
dinnerwithwolves
12 posters

Go down

New Kid on the Block Empty New Kid on the Block

Post  dinnerwithwolves 2013-10-31, 11:59

Hello! I'm a newly found aquarium hobbyist, and have lived in the greater Seattle area my entire, quarterish century long, life!

My parents had a tropical freshwater when I was younger, long enough ago for the only things that I remember from it were "a fish that liked to suck on veggies" and "a fish that had a nose that looked like an anteater".

Years later I have jumped in to the hobby myself with a 29 gallon freshwater tropical and am greatly enjoying it along with the community that comes with it (especially this site!). My tank has been established for about a month, and the community includes 5 Panda Cory's, one Super Red Pleco, about 10 Cherry Shrimp, and two Danio fry (leftover from the eggs my starter Danios dropped without me knowing before I gave them to a friend).

I'm hoping to expand the community a little more - starting this weekend. I'm very very torn and perplexed as to what to get next. I want to get another 3-4 Cory's of another species to join the Panda's in patrolling the bottom, and maybe a Siamese Algae Eater to join the Pleco in clean up. My toughest choice is going to be the mid to upper level of the tank and what to fill it with - suggestions would be awesome! I'd love to have a 6+ school of something, and maybe a duo of a bigger species for a centerpiece. Too many choices!

Thanks for providing a rad website to join, and I'm happy to ease my way in to a fun community!

dinnerwithwolves
Fry

Back to top Go down

New Kid on the Block Empty Re: New Kid on the Block

Post  Madness 2013-10-31, 12:06

welcome. I would stay away from the Chinese algae eater they can be really mean and do not play well with others.
Madness
Madness

Back to top Go down

Post  Lamental Jester 2013-10-31, 12:18

Firstly, Welcome!  My first tank was a 29 gallon too, great size to start with.