Potential batch of fry!

4 posters

Go down

Potential batch of fry! Empty Potential batch of fry!

Post  rayancarter 2013-05-09, 12:16

So one of my female albino dragons blood is holding and I have a couple of questions for those of you with experience.
1. What's your favorite way of getting the eggs/fry and what should I put the fry in if I strip her in a week or so since she's been holding almost 2 weeks now.
2. How many fry should I be expecting?
3. What do you guys do with the fry? I'll give my girlfriend some so that she can have a tank while she's at school but do you guys Craigslist them, give them to shops, or would anyone potentially want some?

Again this is my first time and I may end of screwing it up but from videos I've watched it doesn't look complicated and when I looked in her mouth it seemed like she's got 10 or so eggs give or take a few.

I'm excited for this it's almost like I'm gonna be a grandaddy! Smile

rayancarter
Fry

Back to top Go down

Potential batch of fry! Empty Re: Potential batch of fry!

Post  Betty 2013-05-13, 12:53

There are several different ways to do this...

My favorite way is to isolate the female in a holding tank and let her spit naturally. If that's not doable (and there are plenty of times it's not) then I wait until about week three to be sure the fry are well developed and strip the female quickly and put her right back into the tank. There are exceptions to this -- it really depends on the stock and how much aggression is directed at the holder, how she's holding up physically, etc. Sometimes you need to remove her sooner; other times she might need some time to recuperate before going back into the main tank. I strip directly into a breeder box in a 10 gallon tank with no other fish that are big enough to pull the fry out. I keep them in the breeder box for a couple of weeks because it's easier for me to feed them. I know others do it differently. You'll find out through trial and error what works best for you.