Doza
lars on
sidekicking
hobbyorobsession
9 posters

Go down

floating snail? Empty floating snail?

Post  hobbyorobsession 2010-11-13, 21:37

im new to snails, and after keeping them for several months in my planted tank ive come accrost something i haven't seen yet. one is floating in the center on my tank, is this a good indication that it is dead? or is something else going on here?
hobbyorobsession
hobbyorobsession
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

floating snail? Empty Re: floating snail?

Post  sidekicking 2010-11-13, 21:51

I think his dead
None of my snails float, try smelling it dead snails smell really really bad
sidekicking
sidekicking
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

Post  lars on 2010-11-13, 22:03

If its an apple or trapdoor snail, it could possibly have an air bubble trapped in its shell. We have one and when he floats we call him the "LEVATATING SNAILLLLL", just flip it upside down and that should force the bubble out. Or it could be dead, one or the other. (: just my advice
lars on
lars on
Contributing Member

http://www.dinkypage.com/54184

Back to top Go down

Post  lars on 2010-11-13, 22:31

You should also get some saltwater calcium suppliment cause lots of snails shells erode after time and can kill them, was thinkin about our apple snail earlier and thought that could be useful to ya (:
lars on
lars on
Contributing Member

http://www.dinkypage.com/54184

Back to top Go down

Post  Doza 2010-11-13, 23:08

the only time i have snails that float is when they are dead.. Usually it is when i have a tank that has been empty for a while and than i refill it and all the snails that were in the tank float up because they died off and their shell get replaced with air so when i fill the tank again all the snails that were in the tank float up...

My snails are malaysian trumpets...
I have been colecting all the nice sized snails i find... I figure they look good enought for some sort of jewlery..
Doza
Doza
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down