CO2 planted tank options? Very new to this, teach me!

+3
anderson_p_r
jrygel
ShortyKiloGyrl
7 posters

Go down

CO2 planted tank options? Very new to this, teach me!  Empty CO2 planted tank options? Very new to this, teach me!

Post  ShortyKiloGyrl 2014-03-17, 16:21

I have heard the terms pressurized and also liquid for co2 in planted tanks. The tank I plan on using it in is a fluval spec v (5 gallon). I plan on organic miracle grow base with blank sand substrate. I want a healthy but not out of control planted tank. This will be at work so I don't want to spend an abundant amount of time taking care of it but moderate is fine. Someone please educate me Smile
ShortyKiloGyrl
ShortyKiloGyrl
Lifetime Member

Back to top Go down

CO2 planted tank options? Very new to this, teach me!  Empty Re: CO2 planted tank options? Very new to this, teach me!

Post  jrygel 2014-03-17, 16:41

I'm also new to this but have a pretty [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] with 'liquid carbon' (Flourish Excel).  The excel works pretty well, but is not as good as pressurized CO2; it is just a liquid supplement (similar any other fertilizer) that helps to replace some of what the plants need from CO2 in the water.  As the plants use up the carbon from the Excel, it needs to be dosed again (I dose every day, but others do every other day), which gets a little annoying, and you will need to dose a VERY small amount for a spec V (0.5 mL or so).  Overdosing Excel can be very bad for your fish.